TFMS - Trans Media: Trans Filmmaking, Archival Traces, and Feeling Bad

When and Where

Friday, February 10, 2023 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm


Laura Horak, Careton University
Christopher Wolff, Concordia University
Cáel M. Keegan, Concordia University


Exploring Trans Filmmaking with the Transgender Media Portal — Laura Horak, Carleton

Laura Horak is an Associate Professor of Film Studies at Carleton University and director of the Transgender Media Lab and Transgender Media Portal. She is co-curator of the 99-film Blu-ray set Cinema’s First Nasty Women (Kino Lorber, 2022) and is author of Girls Will Be Boys: Cross-Dressing Women, Lesbians, and American Cinema, 1908-1934 (Rutgers UP, 2016) and co-editor of Silent Cinema and the Politics of Space (Indiana UP, 2014), Unwatchable (Rutgers UP, 2019), an issue of Somatechnics on trans/cinematic/bodies, and a section of the Journal of Cinema and Media Studies on “transing cinema and media studies.”

Archival Traces: Trans Women in European Film — Christopher Wolff, Concordia

Christopher Wolff (they/he) is a PhD student in the interdisciplinary Humanities program at Concordia University, Montréal, Quebec. Their doctoral thesis research investigates trans media activism and international trans community building post-World War II.

Mean Time: Feeling Bad in the Interregnum — Cáel M. Keegan, Concordia

Cáel M. Keegan (he/him) is incoming Associate Professor of Critical Sexuality Studies and Film/Media at Concordia University in Montréal, QC. In 2021, he served as a Fulbright Distinguished Research Chair at Carleton University. Keegan has written extensively on transgender and queer affects, ontologies, and phenomenologies as articulated through popular media formats, platforms, and genres. He is author of Lana and Lilly Wachowski: Sensing Transgender (University of Illinois Press, 2018) and co-editor of Somatechnics 8.1 and the JCMS In Focus dossier, "Transing Cinema and Media Studies," among other works.

Email for the registration link.

Toronto Film and Media Seminar 





Steering Committee for 2022-2023

Co-chairs: Em Barton (York) and Kate J. Russell (UofT) • Faculty members: Kathleen Cummins (Sheridan); Desirée de Jesus (York); Malini Guha (Carleton); Mark Lipton (Guelph); Gabriel Menotti (Queens); Paul Moore (TMU); Taien Ng-Chan (York); Jon Petrychyn (Brock); Katherine Spring (WLU); Elizabeth Wijaya (UofT) • Grad student members: Roxanne Hearn (WLU); Aydan Hasanova (OCAD); Mary Hegedus (York); Patrick Marshall (UofT); Cleo Sallis-Parchet (York) • TIFF: Keith Bennie.

The goals of the Seminar are: • Encouraging intellectual and collegial discussion among the Cinema and Media Studies scholars in the region. • Encouraging in-depth scholarly discussion and critical debate. • Showcasing diverse research methodologies and research fields that address a wide range of cinematic technologies (film, television, video, new media, and other forms of moving image and sound screens). • Aiming to model collegial and professional academic discourse for graduate students entering the field.

Contact Information

Toronto Film and Media Seminar